Drunk Driving Laws

Drunk driving laws in Nevada as well as the U.S. make it illegal nationwide to drive with a BAC at or above 0.08%. People under 21, “zero tolerance” laws make it illegal to drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system at all. Nevada and National laws, along with laws that maintain the minimum legal drinking age at 21, are in place in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and have a clear effect on highway safety, saving tens of thousands of lives since their implementation. These statistics are proven and from the U.S. CDC.

Sobriety checkpoints

Certain states utilize sobriety checkpoints to allow police to briefly stop vehicles at specific, highly visible locations to see if the driver is impaired. Police may stop all or a certain portion of drivers. Breath tests may be given if police have a reason to suspect the driver is intoxicated. Check with your state to see if sobriety checkpoints are utilized.

Ignition interlocks

Another means of Nevada DUI control is the use of ignition interlocks installed in cars to measure alcohol on the driver’s breath. These interlocks keep the car from starting if the driver has a BAC above a certain level, usually 0.02%. They’re used for people convicted of drunk driving and are highly effective at preventing repeat offenses while installed. Mandating interlocks for all offenders, including first-time offenders, will have the greatest impact.

DUI Education

This is perhaps the debatable best means of intervention for stopping a repeat DUI offender. After the First Nevada DUI Offense, you will be required by the court to take a track of DUI Education programs.  The 8 Hour Online Nevada Approved DUI Course, and the Victim Impact Panel are the mandatory court ordered courses for all Nevada DUI First Offenders. The 8 hour course is provided online and you can take the course at your own pace.  This allows you to log in and out at times that are convenient to your learning schedule. Take an the 8 Hour Nevada Approved Online DUI Course at this approved provider: 702 DUI School.



DUI Risk Factors

The U.S. CDC Reports that the following risk issues are directly related to DUI’s. Nevada requires educating you on the DUI Risks below. The information below is included in your court certified Las Vegas Online DUI School.  This online course will get you all the requirements you need for your court ordered First Offense Nevada DUI.

DUI Risks

  • At all levels of blood alcohol concentration (BAC), the risk of being involved in a crash is greater for young people than for older people.8
  • Among drivers with BAC levels of 0.08% or higher involved in fatal crashes in 2014, three out of every 10 were between 21 and 24 years of age (30%). The next two largest groups were ages 25 to 34 (29%) and 35 to 44 (24%).1


  • Among motorcyclists killed in fatal crashes in 2014, 29% had BACs of 0.08% or greater.1
  • Motorcyclists ages 40-49 have the highest percentage of deaths with BACs of 0.08% or greater (40% in 2013).9

Drivers with prior driving while impaired (DWI) convictions:

  • Drivers with a BAC of 0.08% or higher involved in fatal crashes were seven times more likely to have a prior conviction for DWI than were drivers with no alcohol in their system. (7% and 1%, respectively).

DUI Report

The U.S. CDC DUI Reports, the described issues below. These are the consequences involved with a DUI. As part of your education on the DUI charge you received, you will learn more on these topics in your Las Vegas Online DUI School course that you will be required to take.  This Nevada approved course will inform you with all that is involved with getting your First Offense Nevada DUI.

  • In 2014, 9,967 people were killed in alcohol-impaired driving crashes, accounting for nearly one-third (31%) of all traffic-related deaths in the United States.1
  • Of the 1,070 traffic deaths among children ages 0 to 14 years in 2014, 209 (19%) involved an alcohol-impaired driver.1
  • Of the 209 child passengers ages 14 and younger who died in alcohol-impaired driving crashes in 2014, over half (116) were riding in the vehicle with the alcohol-impaired driver.1
  • In 2014, over 1.1 million drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics.3 That’s one percent of the 121 million self-reported episodes of alcohol-impaired driving among U.S. adults each year.4
  • Drugs other than alcohol (legal and illegal) are involved in about 16% of motor vehicle crashes.5
  • Marijuana use is increasing6 and 13% of nighttime, weekend drivers have marijuana in their system.7
  • Marijuana users were about 25% more likely to be involved in a crash than drivers with no evidence of marijuana use, however other factors – such as age and gender – may account for the increased crash risk among marijuana users.5

Take your Las Vegas online course to meet your court requirement, by taking the 702 DUI School School for First Offense, 8 hour course.

Restricted License Information

If you are convicted for your First Offense DUI in Nevada, then you will be required to enroll in 702 DUI School School.  Various other restrictions below.

A restricted license may be obtained for a variety of reasons.

Juveniles in certain rural areas who need to drive in order to attend school or to transport themselves or a family member to medical appointments may apply for a restricted license.

Individuals who have had their license suspended or revoked and have served at least half of their withdrawal period may apply for a restricted license to drive on the job or to/from work, school, grocery store, medical appointments or for court-ordered child visitation.

Exceptions apply for ignition interlock requirements, child support suspensions and some juvenile suspensions. Please call the phone number listed above if any of these exceptions pertain to you.

APPLICATION: A restricted license cannot be approved for commercial driving purposes, to seek employment, or for public school students in Carson City, Clark, Douglas or Washoe Counties.

Complete all sections of the Application for Restricted License that pertain to you. Attach all required documents.

•Drive to/from work or drive on the job: Your employer must complete certain information on the application. Self-employed applicants must attach a copy of their business license or other acceptable document(s) to substantiate self-employment. Workdays and hours are limited to a maximum of six (6) days per week, ten (10) hours per day.

•Drive for medical purposes: A physician’s statement is required.

•Drive to/from medical appointments or a grocery store: The “Verification of Need” affidavit must be completed by an unbiased individual and signed in front of a DMV authorized representative.

•Minor drive to/from school or work: School authorities and parents/guardians must complete certain sections.

SR-22: Proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 Certificate of Insurance) must be filed after any revocation and certain suspensions before a restricted license will be issued. The SR-22 insurance must be in place for a continuous three (3) year period from the date your driving privilege is reinstated.

TESTING & FEES: Applicants may be required to successfully complete written, vision, and drive examinations before a restricted license is issued. A reinstatement fee may be required.

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE: If you have been ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, proof of that installation must be submitted with your application for a restricted license. Nevada law requires that an applicant wait 45 days after a 1st DUI and one (1) year after a 3rd DUI before applying for a restricted license. A restricted license is prohibited by law after a 2nd DUI.

POINT VIOLATOR SUSPENSION: Per NAC 483.225, proof of completion or enrollment in an approved traffic safety course within the past 6 months is required for individuals whose license was suspended due to an accumulation of demerit points as outlined in NRS 483.475.

DENIAL OF AN APPLICATION: A restricted license application will be denied if your license was suspended or revoked for any of the following:

1. A financial responsibility, medical or failure to appear suspension

2. Certain driving record convictions within the past five (5) years

3. The third demerit point suspension within the past five (5) years